George Sansome – Solo Album


George’s self-titled debut solo album was released on 26th June 2020 on Grimdon Records.
Recorded by award-winning producer Ben Walker, this album consists of 10 traditional songs with George accompanying himself on guitar, as live. Track 1 features Tom Bailey on double bass.
See below for a full track list.

“Beautifully performed”

“Inspiring and exhilarating”
Folk Radio



  1. Collier Lass
  2. The Bold Princess Royal
  3. Australia
  4. The Bleaches So Green
  5. Bonaparte’s Departure For St Helena
  6. Jovial Cutler
  7. Bold Fisherman
  8. Gown Of Green
  9. The Rebel Soldier
  10. When Shall I Get Married?

Additional information

Weight 100 g


  1. Eamonn MacNeill

    Taken from my Folk and Acoustic blog

    Member of Worcestershire Folk Rock outfit Granny’s Attic, George Sansome goes solo for his debut self titled long player and what a good decision it’s been.
    No frills or fripperies, George and his trusty acoustic guitar perform Folk songs exactly how they were meant to be heard… following faithfully in the tradition of the likes of Nic Jones, Martin Carthy and Martin Simpson, sung without affectation or gimmick.
    Sansome’s vocals are pleasing on the ear and his skill with a guitar is quite evident. What I particularly like is that his choice of traditional song doesn’t always fall to the obvious, instead choosing the lesser known “The Bold Princess Royal” and “Jovial Cutler” to name but two.
    A fine Folk album from this young man! and I do hope it won’t be his last.

    • Granny’s Attic

      Hi Eamonn, thanks very much for the review! Really glad you enjoyed it!

  2. Patsy Rowley

    Years ago I was eating dinner with my husband in a pub in Charmouth, when the landlord announced that the band was about to start. We both groaned and decided against a pudding. We were tucked around the corner from the stage when suddenly George’s voice assailed our ears. We rushed to get nearer. And we couldn’t believe how assuredly he sang, given his age, about 16 at the time I think.
    Over the years he has solidly improved. This album is fantastic. Comfortable with the chosen material and a skilful, light touch on the guitar.
    Congratulations George.

    • Granny’s Attic

      Sorry we put you off your pudding! I remember that gig well, we had a great time. Thanks for listening for all these years!
      Really glad you like the album!
      Thanks so much,

Add a review

3 × two =

I accept the Privacy Policy